Pharis and Jason Romero

The Slocan Ramblers

With two Juno awards, multiple Canadian Folk Music Awards, features on NPR Music, CBC, and BBC, and performances on A Prairie Home Companion and CBC’s The Vinyl Cafe, Pharis and Jason Romero rank among the finest artists in the world of acoustic music. Their never-ending quest for good songs and beautiful sounds is catalogued in seven heralded albums including a latest release to be showcased at Cowichan. They are joined by Patrick Metzger on bass and Mark Jenkins on pedal steel.


”There’s something ancient and aching about the Romeros, a sound that feels like a reverberation from the past, even as the songs are a perfect antidote to this sped-up, modern world. Sweet Old Religion is particularly good medicine” – No Depression

“Magnificent and inviting.” – Bluegrass Unlimited

“4/4 stars. There are inevitable comparisons with Gillian Welch and David Rawlings, but this couple deserve to make their own headlines.”  – The Daily Express (UK)